Off-Topic Chatter Non-Vehicle Related Chat

Mechanical Engineering

Search this Thread

Old 4/10/12, 07:25 AM
FR500 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
If you want to graduate with any sense of practical engineering, find whatever SAE teams there are at UNO and join up with one that appeals to you and appears to be well run by the students. FSAE is awesome, but I don't see a team at UNO.
Old 4/10/12, 01:07 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I started an engineering degree in '71 and got through 3 years before I was 'asked' to leave the Air Force Academy. I ended up doing for a living what I had always done as a hobby - working on cars. I eventually ended up at a Ford dealership, but you could usually hear me screaming several times a day "who designed this crap". In '96 I decided to finish my BSME, going to Colorado State and graduating in '01 (as an old man). All of the above statements about no hands on or common sense are pretty much spot on. The FSAE suggestion is also a good one, although I had a guy as the previous years team captain (with a 3.85 GPA) totally bewildered as to why their car idled at 3000 RPM just because it had a torn gasket in the intake system.

I've been working in the natural gas industry since graduation and everything I learned in school is pretty much back-up for what I've always understood through practical experience. It very obvious that you have it or you don't, because when I try to explain what I think are very simple issues to guys in my office they have no concept of what I'm talking about. I spend most of my time in the field building our projects and it always blows me away that I can explain something to the guys in the field and they get it right away.