Off-Topic Chatter Non-Vehicle Related Chat

Grocery Store Gas.

Search this Thread

Old 7/9/08, 03:26 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Grocery Store Gas.

Hey all,

I'm a student at the Ohio State University. I'm gearing up to bring my Mustang to Columbus here in a month, and I'm excited!

If any of you are familiar with the grocery store, Giant Eagle, they are offering gas like many other grocery stores across the country(Jewel in Illinois for example). In addition to being a little cheaper, Giant Eagle offers discounts depending on how much money you pay there for groceries. On our last fill up, my girlfriend and I saved a dollar/per gallon.

Enough of the background story. My question to you guys is, how many of you buy gas from a grocery store? Do you think you are getting a quality gasoline? Any other thoughts?
Old 7/9/08, 04:24 PM
I lust for a M24

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
http://www.buckeyestangs.com/vb/show...ighlight=giant
Old 7/9/08, 04:35 PM
Team Mustang Source

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Well with them all having to change over to 10% Ethanol, I'd be leary of any distributor that does put in additives. Additives equal build up, and Ethanol eats away at rubber. Its turning into a lose lose situation.
There are only two sure things not to do when/where buying gas.

1: Do NOT buy from CITGO, nor 7-11 Stores (there new brand is still Chavez owned. and

2. Never, Never, get gas while a tanker is unloading at that station. The pressure they use, stirs up any settlement there may be in the tanks.
Old 7/9/08, 04:41 PM
Mach 1 Member

Thanks for the link. That was informative.
Old 7/9/08, 04:48 PM
NTTAWWT

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts
I wish we had those, Id use it in the jeep
Old 7/9/08, 05:08 PM
Tasca Super Boss 429 Member

Received 31 Likes on 28 Posts
Our local "Quicky Mart" type store gets Exxon gas.
The next town over has a station that looks very upscale with a local Brand Name. They have crappy gas from who knows where.