Off-Topic Chatter Non-Vehicle Related Chat

Firearms question

Search this Thread

Old 11/25/15, 03:58 PM
FR500 Member

Received 118 Likes on 101 Posts
Firearms question

Are there any good books or on-line resources that are geared for beginner firearms owners?

I've just applied for a NJ Firearms Purchasing permit. I'd like to get a handgun and perhaps an AR-15 or similar semi-auto rifle when I'm legal.

I'm a total newbie. I've never fired a handgun before, and the last time I shot a rifle was when I had to qualify with an M-16 in the Air Force back in the mid-70's.

I plan on taking NRA safety course, and have been doing some basic research, and over the winter some friends who own several types of handguns have offered to take me to a range and try theirs. I'm far from decided yet, but am leaning towards something 9mm due to ammo cost and availability.

Thanks in advance.
Old 11/25/15, 04:08 PM
Cobra Member

Received 44 Likes on 30 Posts
I went through the research before I applied for my concealed carry permit. I read '10 best' articles and read/watched reviews and settled on the Sig Sauer P320 Subcompact in 9mm. I've put 100 rounds through it so far and really like the way it feels in my hands and the way it shoots. The capacity is very good at 1 plus 12 in the magazine. A step up in size (.5" longer and .6" taller) is the Compact with a 3.9" barrel (rather than the 3.6" in the Subcompact) and capacity increases to 1 plus 15 in the magazine.

I don't know about books but I am a member of the SIG Talk forum and there are some very helpful folks on there. sigtalk.com
Old 11/25/15, 04:09 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 28 Likes on 21 Posts
9mm is a good choice for ammo choices and cost. I prefer Sig Sauer hardware. IMO books won't do much for you but friends and range time certainly will. Good luck. It is an expensive hobby (habit?) lol.
Old 11/25/15, 04:32 PM
FR500 Member

Originally Posted by tom281
It is an expensive hobby (habit?) lol.