Sponsored by:

Spark Plus on 2008 Bullitt

Search this Thread

Old 6/7/13, 02:30 PM
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Spark Plus on 2008 Bullitt

Hey guys,

I'm due for a spark plug change. I've read the spark plugs snap and it seems like a hell of an ordeal to do at home. I'm trying to decide if its worth it to take the car in for the dealership to do ($360 for plugs and fuel filter) or is it something easy enough to do at home. I've never done it before, the most I've done is clean my throttle body, install cold air intake. One of the things I can't find is at what point did Ford use different spark plugs to avoid the issue.

Any help would be appreciated.
Old 6/7/13, 02:36 PM
Post *****

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Originally Posted by sdsguy
Hey guys,

I'm due for a spark plug change. I've read the spark plugs snap and it seems like a hell of an ordeal to do at home. I'm trying to decide if its worth it to take the car in for the dealership to do ($360 for plugs and fuel filter) or is it something easy enough to do at home. I've never done it before, the most I've done is clean my throttle body, install cold air intake. One of the things I can't find is at what point did Ford use different spark plugs to avoid the issue.

Any help would be appreciated.
They changed the head design in 12.07. Bullitt's have the new design so don't worry about the plug nightmare. (Still be careful as with any plug change but you won't have the carbon issue on the old longer plug.)

The brown boot shows you have the new design:

Old 6/7/13, 02:39 PM
GT Member

Originally Posted by cdynaco

They changed the head design in 12.07. Bullitt's have the new design so don't worry about the plug nightmare. (Still be careful as with any plug change but you won't have the carbon issue on the old longer plug.)

Thanks! Any tips for a first timer? Do I need a torque wrench or anything?
Old 6/7/13, 03:37 PM
Post *****

Originally Posted by sdsguy