2005-2009 Mustang Information on The S197 {Gen1}

Should I Be Scared?

Search this Thread

Old 12/29/17, 10:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Should I Be Scared?

Hey everyone,

I'm in the market for a fun car and an S197 GT is on the top of my list. However, the more research I do the more I get nervous. I'm seeing horror stories about interiors flooding due to seams not being sealed properly from the factory, smart junction boxes failing repeatedly, gauges not working, etc. How common are these issues? Are some years better than others? I'm a college student with almost no car experience and little money for repairs. Should I just get a Civic and cry or are these cars reliable? How many major repairs have you needed since owning your Mustang?

EDIT: I know there have been other threads about this but it looks like it's been at least a few years since the last one. I would appreciate a current account of how things are holding up.

Last edited by Number4Buckshot; 12/29/17 at 11:11 AM.
Old 12/29/17, 11:34 AM
Shelby GT350 Member

Received 390 Likes on 287 Posts
Buckshot, I bought an '06 GT 4.6L with 89K miles last year. To date (94K miles) after doing routine maintenance, plugs, oil, fluids, belt, etc. the car has been great. At this point in the cars life's the things you've mentioned should have been fixed if they happened at all. You have to be careful when reading forums as most people that post will post about problems they are having. Folks just don't think of posting how good their car has been. If possible make sure the car you are buying has been well maintained, and not beat to death. Taking it to a trusted mechanic for a survey before you buy is suggested. Be patient, and do your due diligence. These 197's are getting more difficult to find, but they are out there in good condition. Good luck in your search.

Her's a post I put up a couple weeks ago to help ease your mind a bit.

https://themustangsource.com/forums/...-later-544951/