2005-2009 Mustang Information on The S197 {Gen1}

How the Boss was Loss....(t)

Search this Thread

Old 8/25/04, 04:41 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally posted by Wolfie351@August 25, 2004, 2:35 PM
I'm no lawyer, but the way I understand trademark law is that you must re-new every 10 years and you also MUST have an "intent to use" that trademark. Since Ford has not sold a Boss in 30 years, I would say they no longer have rights to it. Notice how Ford brought out a Mustang Cobra every 10 years
You're completely correct, except that "intent to use" is not "use". Just because they haven't made one in a while doesn't mean they give up the rights. They also still have the old "Boss" name in circulation on the old cars. Think about all the old movies, "Gone with the Wind" being the most recognizable. You think MGM magically loses the rights to it because they haven't remade the movie in ... 65 years?
Old 8/25/04, 08:13 PM
Bullitt Member

Originally posted by thezeppelin8+August 25, 2004, 1:10 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (thezeppelin8 @ August 25, 2004, 1:10 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'>
Originally posted by M1Rifle@August 25, 2004, 10:26 AM
<!--QuoteBegin-BlueStangVert
@August 25, 2004, 10:45 AM
Larry Shinoda, the creator of the original Bossse (as well as Mach 1s and Camaro Z28s) founded Team Shinoda in the early to mid-1990s.

Don't forget the 1963 Corvette Stingray!
Shinoda is the greatest IMO. these 4 cars are on my top 5 list. [/b][/quote]
Wow! Thats most of the surviving muscle cars. Impressive.
Old 8/26/04, 05:12 AM

First off - New guy here. Been lurking the past couple of months reading all the up to date info on the 05'. This forum has been an overwhelming source for everything anyone could want to know about the 05'. Thanks all for your posts.