2005-2009 Mustang Information on The S197 {Gen1}

Fuel issues

Search this Thread

Old 8/18/05, 08:52 AM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
This may have already been said but is everyone on here using bp fuels in their cars? I have a friend who is a master tech for Ford here in Dalton. He says that he was advised that its something to do with the sulfer in the other gas companies that cause issues with the tanks and pumps. Anyone else hear this. I dont need flamed for not researching. I looked and didnt see where this was said.
Old 8/18/05, 09:24 AM
Mach 1 Member

Their "Ultimate" fuel is refined an extra step and will help keep the system clean but it's so expensive and at 93 octane not needed for most cars. I use only name brand fuels and put in Redline fuel system cleaner about every 3000 miles.
Old 8/18/05, 09:30 AM
Retired Tms Staff

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I use to work for Shell and my Father-in-law worked for BP. I personally just look for who has the cheapest gas when it comes time for filling up.
Old 8/18/05, 09:33 AM
Bullitt Member

It has nothing to do with the grade of fuel its the actual company uses less sulfer in their fuel which helps with the tank issues the mustangs have been having. I thought I would pass this info onto all of you. Just incase this has not been said. This is coming from a master tech who was wondering himself because the fuelcap or somewhere says to use bp fuels.
Old 8/18/05, 09:44 AM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 28 Likes on 24 Posts
Sulphur content is regulated I believe. Some refiners may go an extra to remove more sulphur than is required but no gasoline should have more than the maximum regulated by law.
Old 8/18/05, 09:52 AM
Retired Tms Staff

Originally posted by Andy Haynes@August 18, 2005, 9:36 AM