2005-2009 Mustang Information on The S197 {Gen1}

First Inspection

Search this Thread

Old 8/19/05, 03:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can anyone tell me what I should be looking for when I check out my car before signing the paperwork, etc...? Also, I know I should take it for a test drive, but what should I be looking/listening for then? And what do I do if something is wrong?

I tried to search to see if this issue has been definitively discussed, but I'm not very good at searching the forum. :scratch: If a thread is out there, let me know.
Old 8/19/05, 09:25 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 115 Likes on 85 Posts
I'll be looking for fit and finish issues. Anything mechanical will hopefully make itself obvious test-driving the car.

I'll try operating everything and make sure it all works.

Most of the new Mustangs I have seen looked pretty darn good. I did drive a V6 with loose trim over the passenger door. That's the kind of stuff I want to catch before driving it off. And obviously look for any signs of damage and repair.

I am going to try and make myself take my time with it and not rush to sign the paperwrk and drive off.
Old 8/19/05, 10:11 PM
GT Member

Here are some posts i found that might help.. the first one has a whole checklist of stuff.

http://forums.bradbarnett.net/index....pic=22248&st=0

http://forums.bradbarnett.net/index....opic=4478&st=0
Old 8/19/05, 10:26 PM
Bullitt Member

Originally posted by Crowestang@August 19, 2005, 4:15 PM
Can anyone tell me what I should be looking for when I check out my car before signing the paperwork, etc...? Also, I know I should take it for a test drive, but what should I be looking/listening for then? And what do I do if something is wrong?

I tried to search to see if this issue has been definitively discussed, but I'm not very good at searching the forum. :scratch: If a thread is out there, let me know.