2005-2009 Mustang Information on The S197 {Gen1}

Battery drain

Search this Thread

Old 8/12/17, 03:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Battery drain

I know that there have been many discussions on this issue I have read through many and I'm at wits end here. I have had it into Ford I have an automotive degree myself it is driving me crazy. If my vehicle sits for more than 15 hrs without starting it will not crank over. I have replaced the alternator the battery I removed the radio for a few months and it was still die. Battery is good voltage drop test within range alternator 14.1 v then 13.4 v when fully charged. When headlights and AC on 13.2 v when brakes applied 12.6v and regulator in alternator may fry I'm on alternator number 5 battery 3 I need fixes not put a trickle charger on it and roll your windows down and turn AC off.
Old 8/12/17, 03:29 AM

2007 gt 4.6l shaker 1000 no add on extra amps all factory.
Old 8/12/17, 10:56 AM
Mach 1 Member

Received 51 Likes on 47 Posts
Originally Posted by Coolslider
2007 gt 4.6l shaker 1000 no add on extra amps all factory.
Well normally I would say it is the shaker system and the cd player. But since you said you unhooked it I think we can rule that out. What is the draw on the battery when the car is off?
Old 8/12/17, 11:06 AM

Right after disconnect after shutdown 30mv after 45sec 22mv after another 45 sec 3mv
Old 8/12/17, 11:12 AM

Sorry RE checked my numbers I had written down .30 v - .22 v then .03 v
Old 8/12/17, 11:46 AM
Mach 1 Member

Received 51 Likes on 47 Posts
Originally Posted by Coolslider
Sorry RE checked my numbers I had written down .30 v - .22 v then .03 v
I don't think those are the right numbers. Should be looking and amp draw in milliamps not voltage.
Old 8/13/17, 09:09 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 669 Likes on 542 Posts
Degree or not... not gonna assume anything here. Forest and trees happen, right? Right. So sorry if I point out the obvious to you' to you, but... anyway.