1994-2004 V-8 GT, GTS, Bullitt, Mach 1, and Cobra

Q & A About Cleaning the Throttle Body

Search this Thread

Old 9/17/04, 04:41 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thumbs up

Hello everyone! I have been observing for a while and am ready to make my first post.

Anyway, I have a 1995 Mustang GT (just about everything is stock) and she has been acting a little sluggish lately. A pretty car-knowledage friend of mine (he has a street 99 Trans-Am that runs high 9's) ,who used to have a mustang, told me that the throttle body may need cleaning.

My question is, is this hard to do? I am a novice at working on cars, i mean i can change my oil and do minor repairs (like one thing i have done is changed the alternator on another car), but don't want to try to clean it if is is beyond my skill level.

Also, are there any tips or tricks to doing this? Like, things to watch out for; is there one kind of cleaner that is best to use?

Thanks you you alls time.

Marc D.

Heres a pic of my car.
Old 9/17/04, 04:45 PM
Stubborn Bear
TMS Staff

Received 48 Likes on 39 Posts
Its pretty easy to clean the TB. Basically pull the airbox/maf/air tube assembly off and you will see the TB right there. You will need to get some throttle Body cleaner spray though, dont use carb cleaner. There is a protective coating on the TB blade that carb cleaner supposedly will remove.

Also while you have everything apart, may want to check your MAF. If you pull the MAF sensor out of its housing, you will see the sensor wires. My best suggestion on cleaning these is get some electrical contact cleaner (small red areosole can at autozone) and use that to clean the wires. becareful not to touch them with anything that may be dirty or have oil. Also while you have the sensor out of the housing, clean the housing out with the TB cleaner.
Old 9/17/04, 04:57 PM