1964-1970 Mustang Member Tech & Restoration Discussion

Question on restoration

Search this Thread

Old 3/9/13, 05:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question on restoration

I'm no mechanic by any means, my brother has an IROC Camero that he's been restoring for the past year so he has much more experience than I do. My question to y'all is, with me having almost no money, what is the best way to try to restore my 1978 Mustang II Hatchback? Should I save a bit of money then spend it on priority 1 and 2 with a mechanic to fix it, or should I fix it up myself risking messing it up? Or should I just save all of my money and wait to fix it all at once? I've never done this before.
Old 3/10/13, 10:12 PM
V6 Member

Originally Posted by dday9
I'm no mechanic by any means, my brother has an IROC Camero that he's been restoring for the past year so he has much more experience than I do. My question to y'all is, with me having almost no money, what is the best way to try to restore my 1978 Mustang II Hatchback? Should I save a bit of money then spend it on priority 1 and 2 with a mechanic to fix it, or should I fix it up myself risking messing it up? Or should I just save all of my money and wait to fix it all at once? I've never done this before.
The best way is to spend what you can(little at a time) and do the work yourself. It's more rewarding that way. I have no mechanic background but using this forum, there are plenty of people willing to help as much as possible. Good luck on the build and keep us all updated and take pictures along the way
Old 3/10/13, 11:19 PM
les
GT Member