1964-1970 Mustang Member Tech & Restoration Discussion

70 Fastback transmission and rear end

Search this Thread

Old 5/19/24, 10:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
70 Fastback transmission and rear end

Hello All - need some recommendations…. I’ve got a 70 fastback 351 Windsor w/C4 and 8” rear with drum brakes. I’m doing a 408 stroker upgrade that will have about 500 tq and 525 hp. I’ve got a ride tech Street Grip suspension upgrade installed and am very worried about the C4 and the 8” rear end.

Any thoughts on what options available. C6? Stock 9” rear end or a “built” rear end? Upgrades for C4? Manual 4 or 5 speed? Etc., etc…. I’m not an expert by any means. Don’t want to break the bank….. Help!!!!!

thanks -
Old 5/19/24, 11:28 AM
Administrator, Shop Manual PDF Poster, Parts Locator & Spam Bot Eliminator!!

Received 2,861 Likes on 2,112 Posts
@70stang

The Easy Although Not So Easy To Find These Days Would Be a Small Case C-6 and 9 Inch Out of a 69-70 Car and It Would Be Minimal Fab Work. Choices are Endless But Can Be Narrowed Down If You Tell Us What Your End Use Will Be! Just Cruisin Around, Touring, Track Use or Dragstrip Etc. Tire Size You Wish To Run. Really The More Info The Better!

A Few of The Old Timers Here Has Owned & Still Own The Older Cars Although Our Usual Traffic is Asking About 05 Ups! I Do Still Own Vintage Fords The Closest to a Older Mustang is My 73 Xr-7 Cougar! 351C Auto, Air. Cammed, Intake & Holley 4 Barrel Upgrade From 2 Barrel

Speak of The Devil Here is One of My Forays into The Past!

https://themustangsource.com/forums/...ck-day-550857/

Love To See Pics of the Project as Well!

It Will Take My Noodle a Little Time To Go Back in The Day & Remember The Old Knowledge on the Older Cars! But it Will Come Back! For Me Back in Those Days It Was a Lot More About What You Could Find in a Pre Internet World! Lots of Book Reading, Parts Cars & Trial & Error!

Welcome,

Kc
Old 5/19/24, 03:26 PM

70 rear end