Notices
Suspension, Brakes, and Tire Tech Place to discuss suspension mods for all models

Improving my GT's suspension

Search this Thread

Old 3/21/14, 10:59 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Improving my GT's suspension

Hi folks,
I am a noob at modding my Mustang, and I have decided to do something about that.
So the first thing I want to do is improve the handling of it. My car is mainly used in the weekend, and take it on trips through the California country side. I won't be going to a drag strip. Maybe I will go on a track day at Laguna Seca, but if I do, it will be just for the fun, and not for real hard driving (is what I say now).

This week, I went to Borelli Motor Sports (very nice facility!), to see if they could modify my suspension for me. There was a very kind gentleman, who told me what he could do for me. He advised to just start by lowering the suspension, and using caster/camber plates. He said it would be what I would need, for what I had told him I was going to do with the car. He mentioned that because the car is fairly new (only 9K miles) the stock shock's could be re-used. He quoted $125/hour for labour. And he looked up on Summit Racing the parts that I would need: Eibach Sportline lowering springs. BBK Gripp Adjustable Caster/Camber plate kit. Installation: $625
Alignment would set me back another $125

Looking at the pricing of the parts: approx $550, and the labour of $750..... I'm thinking, why don't I give it a shot and try it myself? I youtube-d a number of instructions and I've gained a reasonable amount of confidence that I can do it myself, and save $750. Which could be a nice beginning of a new set of wheels and tires, or a nice axle back.

Anyway: long story short. I have a couple of questions: