The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums

The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums (https://themustangsource.com/forums/)
-   2012-2013 BOSS 302 (https://themustangsource.com/forums/f813/)
-   -   Shoulder Harness for the Recaros (https://themustangsource.com/forums/f813/shoulder-harness-recaros-490642/)

2012YellowBoss 1/11/11 08:36 AM

Shoulder Harness for the Recaros

Is there any kind of kit that would add shoulder harness (4 or 5 point) to the Racaro seats. Something that would "plug" into the cars existing electronics and not require a roll bar?

When you guys go racing do you have to have shoulder harnesses or is the stock restraint system OK? I know rules are different every where but I would think that with the racing seats installed some may require a 4,5 or 6 point restaint system.

StillIntense 1/11/11 10:13 AM

I've been racing my 95 R for a few years now, and can say that the factory seat belts will definitely not hold you in place for a serious track session. You'll want a five point harness, but I'm not aware of any that plug into the cars' seat belt sensors. The real question here is how do you plan to attach the shoulder belts? About your only real options are a harness bar that runs behind the seats (several companies sell these) or a full on cage to attach the shoulder belts. The waist belts can attach to the same bolts that the factory seat belts attach to.

cloud9 1/11/11 01:34 PM

Originally Posted by 2012YellowBoss (Post 5996400)
Is there any kind of kit that would add shoulder harness (4 or 5 point) to the Racaro seats. Something that would "plug" into the cars existing electronics and not require a roll bar?

When you guys go racing do you have to have shoulder harnesses or is the stock restraint system OK? I know rules are different every where but I would think that with the racing seats installed some may require a 4,5 or 6 point restaint system.