2012-2013 BOSS 302

questions about maintenance after tracking

Search this Thread

Old 5/1/11 | 06:11 AM
Bullitt Member

questions about maintenance after tracking

The last page of the Boss supplement manual states the following in BOLD

Ford reccomends you change your oil and filter after your vehicle is subject to track and/or competition conditions.

Followed by:

additoinally perform ... and the maintenance in the 150,000 mile normal maintenance schedule. Which is manual transmission fluid and rear axle fluid too.

I am new to tracking.
Dose anyone change their oil after every track event?
What about rear axle fluid (I am assuming this is the rear differential fluid?)

If I track 3 to 4 times and Auto cross 3 to 4 times in a 6 month period
What should I be changing and at what frequency?
Motor oil
Rear axle fluid
Brake fluid
Manual trans Fliud

Thanks for your input
Old 5/1/11 | 06:38 AM
Cobra R Member

I have my first track day in about three weeks I think the book is carry maintenance to the extreme but I would still be careful, change the oil more often but other things like the rear oil depends on how much you push it. My track time will be beginner so it will be more like aggressive street driving to some extent, I doubt I will need to go crazy changing everything after a session like that. One question I have is why Ford would say to change to dot 4 fluid for the track and then change back to dot 3. That does not makes sense to me, I don't see why we would need to change but plan to ask some experts at the track next time I go.

I guess it depends on how hard you push it and what temps you get things to.

Last edited by 2012YellowBoss; 5/1/11 at 08:01 AM.
Old 5/1/11 | 07:53 AM
Tasca Super Boss 429 Member

Originally Posted by 2012YellowBoss