Notices
2012-2013 BOSS 302

boss engine oil cooler help

Search this Thread

Old 12/21/11, 03:45 PM
Cobra Member

Location: NJ. Waiting for our Gov. to be held accountable for his actions>>>Jersey Broke
Received 25 Likes on 20 Posts
boss engine oil cooler help

I need to remove the engine oil cooler from the block to get to the oil sending unit and the plug for the block heater.
How do you remove the oil cooler from the block and are there any gaskets that will have to be replaced. Also will any anti freeze come out. Only thing I have done is to drain the oil and remove the filter. As you see I have never done this before and dont know what to expect. I am installing a water temp & oil pressure gauge in my dash pod. any pictures are worth a thousand words.

Last edited by boss man; 12/21/11 at 03:46 PM.
Old 12/21/11, 06:25 PM
Cobra R Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I have not done this myself but this may be a good start.

http://iihs.net/fsm/?dir=822

not sure if the 11 5.0 is the same as the 12 Boss but this only goes 11.
Old 12/21/11, 06:42 PM
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
You will need a 9/16 hexdriver (allen) to take it off here a link http://www.allfordmustangs.com/forum...uctions-4.html to a post with pic & torque spec .and a how to when starting with a car that dosen't have one to start with . It Post #54 . I hope this helps .
Old 12/22/11, 07:13 AM
Cobra Member

Location: NJ. Waiting for our Gov. to be held accountable for his actions>>>Jersey Broke
Thanks guys for the information. That helped alot. I borrowed a set of hex drives up to 5/8 so I should be good there. my only concern is the O-ring. Can it be reused? Also when the oil cooler is removed will I loose coolant. It looks like the oil cooler is a sealed unit for coolant to just pass through it. Correct??
Old 12/22/11, 08:12 AM
Bullitt Member

It looks like the oil cooler is a sealed unit for coolant to just pass through it. Correct??