2015 - 2023 MUSTANG Discuss everything 2015-2023 S550 Mustang

Tires recommendation.

Search this Thread

Old 4/22/21, 02:04 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Tires recommendation.

Well it’s time for new tires for a 2017 GT convertible. Current tires are stock oem pirelli p zero Nero 255/40 zr 19 with just under 20 k miles and they really didn’t get the mileage one would think. But then again I’m a more spirited driver as they would say. More on the aggressive side. Ya have to keep them round. 😉. Car does not see snow being in Wisconsin and all season isn’t a big factor but either way looking for what real life users recommend.I have compared a bunch and read reviews on tire rack but those reviews and test results aren’t from mustang owners. Many different vehicles. So again all season isn’t a factor but car does see rain on occasion. So yea wet and dry performance is big plus. So what’s the consensus on real life users. And go.
Old 4/22/21, 03:51 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 1,573 Likes on 1,078 Posts
duplicate thread: New Tires recommendation - The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums

There are so many good tires out there; you really need to narrow it down a bit; some of the key tradeoffs:
  • do you prioritize wear life over ultimate performance? (softer tires grip better but wear faster)
  • will you drive the car in temps under about 45 deg F? (summer-only tires turn to hockey pucks around that temperature)
  • you already mentioned that you do need to drive the car in rain
  • what about price -- are you looking for the best tire regardless of price; or the best value with price considered?
Michelin Pilot Super Sport or Sport 4S are generally a good choice for a high end, high performance summer tire . . . but there are lots of cheaper alternatives that are probably close

Also, while you're buying tires, would be a good time to consider new (wider) wheels; if that's in the budget. Wider wheels would let you go with wider tires.