Notices
'10-14 Interior and Audio Place to discuss 2010-2014 interior and audio type modifications.

Adding the OEM nav

Old 1/7/13, 03:58 PM
  #21  
Bullitt Member
 
fgibbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: April 2, 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 286
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Will a 2011-2012 radio nav radio work in a 2013 with the right VIN?
fgibbs is offline  
Old 1/7/13, 04:43 PM
  #22  
Shelby GT500 Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,675
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
I don't see why not, as the nav was not changed.

It 'should' work. You may want to double check the part number, however, to see if a nav from a 2013 is the same as one from a 2010-2012.
jim010 is offline  
Old 1/7/13, 04:47 PM
  #23  
Shelby GT500 Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,675
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
OK. Bt the way, the OEM amp is a pain in the ***. Custom wiring and the adding of pins into connectors will be needed. Aftermarket amp may be more attractive of an option.

out of curiosity, will the wiring harness (that has heated seats) work with a bezel that doesn't have heated seats?

I just helped do this into my friend's jeep. it was awful... any suggestions for an amp that costs about the same?
That should not be an issue.

As for an amp, laserred98 suggested the MS-8.

Last edited by jim010; 1/7/13 at 04:50 PM.
jim010 is offline  
Old 1/7/13, 05:07 PM
  #24  
V6 Member
 
10MustangGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: September 27, 2012
Posts: 96
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by fgibbs View Post
Will a 2011-2012 radio nav radio work in a 2013 with the right VIN?
you better not be trying to buy the same one that i am trying to get!
10MustangGT is offline  
Old 1/11/13, 04:10 PM
  #25  
Shelby GT500 Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,675
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
Jim, do you by chance have a picture of all the parts you used? I PMd a guy that has some of the parts but he said he wants a picture so that he can "recognize" the parts.
The amps in the first picture were not what I needed, so ignore those. I don't have a picture of the climate control module, but it is located right behind the digital display on the centre stack. It is about the same size as the sync module I have in the picture on the left.



The climate system harness is number 15.


Harness numbr 7 and 6 'should' be attached to the main dash harness you would pull from the wreckers. If not, you'll have to get these.


You'll want the amp and bracket it goes on for this. Get the pigtails too.
jim010 is offline  
Old 1/11/13, 05:31 PM
  #26  
V6 Member
 
10MustangGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: September 27, 2012
Posts: 96
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks! I am slowly piecing everything together.. When I do it all, I will try to take some pictures to add to this thread so hopefully those will help for future people!
10MustangGT is offline  
Old 1/11/13, 07:50 PM
  #27  
Bullitt Member
 
rm2092's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 5, 2011
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 411
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
You know when I had my 2009 Ford FX2 I did the same thing and replaced the stock radio for the Nav, just plug and play in 15 minutes but after reading all this ill pass on this mod.
rm2092 is offline  
Old 1/12/13, 10:40 AM
  #28  
Shelby GT500 Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,675
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
Originally Posted by rm2092 View Post
You know when I had my 2009 Ford FX2 I did the same thing and replaced the stock radio for the Nav, just plug and play in 15 minutes but after reading all this ill pass on this mod.
It is plug and play. It just happens to be a fair bit more plu and play .

I didn't find it to be all that bad, really. You'll save some cash and learn something about your car.
jim010 is offline  
Old 1/12/13, 11:33 AM
  #29  
V6 Member
 
10MustangGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: September 27, 2012
Posts: 96
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Is harness number 6 (in the picture) included with the harness i am buying from you? ohh and i will need your paypal email so PM it to me please!
10MustangGT is offline  
Old 1/12/13, 12:27 PM
  #30  
Shelby GT500 Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,675
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
Good question. No, that cable is not included, as I took it and used it in my car. When I bought the main dash harness from the dealer, it did not include those 2 cables.

But if you are getting this stuff from a wrecker, he should include the whole harness for you - and the cables are strapped with the main harness. They sold all of that stuff for me as a package.

If you have to buy it separately, it is $30 new.
jim010 is offline  
Old 1/13/13, 08:31 PM
  #31  
V6 Member
 
10MustangGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: September 27, 2012
Posts: 96
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
so will I be getting harness 7 and 15 from you? if not, which one is it?
10MustangGT is offline  
Old 1/14/13, 08:50 AM
  #32  
Shelby GT500 Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,675
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
The harness I have is just the dash harness. Try to get the others from the wrecked car you are pulling the nav from.
jim010 is offline  
Old 1/14/13, 09:31 AM
  #33  
V6 Member
 
Xtian85's Avatar
 
Join Date: June 13, 2012
Posts: 96
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Thanks for posting this info I'm thinking about doing this.
Xtian85 is offline  
Old 1/14/13, 03:07 PM
  #34  
V6 Member
 
10MustangGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: September 27, 2012
Posts: 96
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1 more question.. Where did you get the 22 guage stp 4 pair wire, the double size female pin, and the single size female pins? If you could post links so I know what I am looking for it would be greatly appreciated. I am trying to buy them before I receive all of the components, but i am getting confused about which to buy. Thanks!
10MustangGT is offline  
Old 1/14/13, 03:45 PM
  #35  
Shelby GT500 Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,675
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
I had to order the wire. All I could get was 24 guage, though. I ordered it through an electronics store. Ask for shielded twisted pair STP. 4 pair twisted with a drain wire and wrapped in a metal foil. It was for ethernet cable, and I cut off the ends.

As for the pins, I used the pins from a bunch of pigtails I had lying around from other harnesses and pulled those out. I also pulled some out from the old climate system harness.

I'll take pics when I get home for you.
jim010 is offline  
Old 1/14/13, 05:30 PM
  #36  
V6 Member
 
10MustangGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: September 27, 2012
Posts: 96
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Could I not just use multiple speaker wires (the ones with two ends)? That is basically the same thing.. If not, why does it have to be shielded?
10MustangGT is offline  
Old 1/14/13, 05:44 PM
  #37  
Shelby GT500 Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,675
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
You can use regular speaker wire if you wish. I just wanted to wire mine up as close to factory as possible. They used STP, so that is what I did.

The twisting is to cancel out the electromagnetic field from each pair. You'll notice in the diagram Hawkeye posted that the paired wires to each speaker is also twisted. The shielding to to prevent the elevtromagnetic signal from the wires from interfering with other electrical signals in other wires in the harness, and to prevent other electrical fields from interfering with the speaker wires going to the amp.

At least that is how it was explained to me.
jim010 is offline  
Old 1/14/13, 05:50 PM
  #38  
Shelby GT500 Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,675
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
Here are the shots of the pins. The one on the left is the male pins. One pin is the regular 'single' width, while the other 'double' width. The female connector is a double width also. I yanked these from the old climate harness and other pigtails I had. I'm sure youcan buy these in an electronics store.

All you need to do ispush them into the appropriate slot.

Since you are going OEM with the amp, and not aftermarket, just be aware that it is a PITA.
Attached Thumbnails Adding the OEM nav-2.jpg   Adding the OEM nav-1.jpg  
jim010 is offline  
Old 1/14/13, 05:52 PM
  #39  
V6 Member
 
10MustangGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: September 27, 2012
Posts: 96
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yeah I am not looking forward to this part of the install. Everything else seems fine, but this part is kinda freaky!
10MustangGT is offline  
Old 1/22/13, 04:55 PM
  #40  
V6 Member
 
10MustangGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: September 27, 2012
Posts: 96
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by jim010 View Post
Good question. No, that cable is not included, as I took it and used it in my car. When I bought the main dash harness from the dealer, it did not include those 2 cables.

But if you are getting this stuff from a wrecker, he should include the whole harness for you - and the cables are strapped with the main harness. They sold all of that stuff for me as a package.

If you have to buy it separately, it is $30 new.
where did you find it for $30 new? The cheapest I can find it is for $57 at tousley..
10MustangGT is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Adding the OEM nav


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.