Notices
'10-14 Exterior Modifications Place to discuss all 2010-2014 exterior modifications

Possible to upgrade tire size + rims (non brembo pkg)

Search this Thread

Old 5/30/11, 09:25 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Possible to upgrade tire size + rims (non brembo pkg)

So I have a GT/CS so I don't have the Brembo package. But eventually I think I'd like to put some heftier meat there and doing so I don't think i'll be able to stick with the stock rims. But I was wondering since i'm new to all of this if it's possible to fit wider tires/rims (and bigger diameter) under there on mustangs w/o the Brembo package.
Old 5/31/11, 11:23 AM
Mach 1 Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Blackbird.
So I have a GT/CS so I don't have the Brembo package. But eventually I think I'd like to put some heftier meat there and doing so I don't think i'll be able to stick with the stock rims. But I was wondering since i'm new to all of this if it's possible to fit wider tires/rims (and bigger diameter) under there on mustangs w/o the Brembo package.
I'm not exactly sure what your asking here so I'll answer what i think and you can clarify if I dont answer the right question.

Yes you can fit larger diameter wheels and wider wheels on all versions of the 2010+ mustangs. The universal opinion is 20 inches is as large of a diameter as you would want for best looks/fitment. 10 inches wide (in the rear) is about as wide as you would want to go as well. If you are looking at all 4 wheels the same width then 9.5 inches looks awesome.

Some guys like myself run a staggered setup with 8.5 or 9 inch wide in the front and 10 inches wide in the rear. Of course you lose the ability to rotate with this setup but it looks like pure sex! But you could run a semi-staggered setup with the 9.5 inch wide wheels by staggering the tires as well. Example, 265 series tires in front and 285 series in the rear. You still lose the ability to rotate though.