Notices
'10-14 Exterior Modifications Place to discuss all 2010-2014 exterior modifications

ANOTHER Wheel Question

Search this Thread

Old 4/9/11, 11:14 AM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ANOTHER Wheel Question

Dear Wheel-O-Philes,
I am wondering what wheel/tire combination would fill up the wheel wells to give less fender gap, and also look "proper". From my understanding, could you potentially have a higher profile tire with a 20" rim? I have been looking at Weld's, and thinking if I get a 15" or 17" wheel, and a taller tire, how would that compare to a 20" rim with lowpro tires? Is there a calculator tool on the web that can figure this that you know of? There are myriad combinations of wheels and tires out there, and I have zero knowledge to even make it worth my time.
If we have a thread with wheel/tire sizes, widths, offsets, weights, and types that work on our '11's hit me up with that info.

I will not be lowering my car, FYI.

Thanks in advance!
Old 4/9/11, 11:35 AM
Cobra Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The only way to reduce wheel gap and look "proper" is to lower the car, but I see that's not an option for you.

Keep in mind that a taller tire is going to raise the car... and it will look even more awkward.
Old 4/9/11, 10:32 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 667 Likes on 541 Posts
And also potentially rub somewhere, depending on things. Not straight, but in a turn.
Old 4/10/11, 07:37 AM
Cobra Member

Originally Posted by houtex
And also potentially rub somewhere, depending on things. Not straight, but in a turn.

OP, what's your main concern about lowering the car? A simple drop with Steeda Sport springs will make a huge difference in appearance without really hurting the clearance of the already very high Mustang.
Old 4/10/11, 02:21 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by m4a1mustang