'10-14 V6 Modifications Place to discuss 2010 V6 modifications

Exhaust questions ! from header to axleback

Search this Thread

Old 8/18/12 | 02:21 PM
Banned

Exhaust questions ! from header to axleback

I had my little "ricer" phase when I was younger and I remember paying $200 for a GReddy evo 2 catback and $80 for 4-2-1 DC headers and now I look at the price for headers and they're over $400

My questions are since I want the "muscle car" sound

1) can I just get the bbk x pipe and install it with the stock exhaust?

2) can I just buy the BBK long tube headers and leave it with the stock set up, will it throw an engine code?

3) What's the difference between the h and x pipe, does the 13 v6 have both?

I'm new to all of this so please bare with me !
Old 8/18/12 | 02:51 PM
Cobra Member

You're not going to get a "musclecar sound" from a V6 unless you change the cams, and there are no aftermarket cams available that I'm aware of. Of course, I'm assuming that by "musclecar sound", you mean the uneven lope that cars with serious cammage exhibited back in the day before computers and fuel injection.

The best you can expect (and this is just my own humble opinion) is that your car will be louder. That being said, I'm leaning toward the Pypes SFM79 cat-back mid-muffler system. It costs less than most axle-back mufflers, it's made out of stainless steel, and it sounds pretty good.

I'm waiting to sell my take-off parts, and then I'll get the Pypes.

Last edited by jsimmons; 8/18/12 at 02:52 PM.
Old 8/18/12 | 02:56 PM
GTR Member

Can't "bare" with you unless you are a hot looking woman.

May be able to bear with you over your inexperience though...

No matter what exhaust you go with it will never have a "Muscle car" sound as this is a DOHC 4 Valve V6, it's physically impossible for it to sound like a V8.

Your car comes stock with an "X" pipe, it is what is known as a merge style not the classic X style, but it's still an X pipe.