The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums

The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums (https://themustangsource.com/forums/)
-   5.0L GT Modifications (https://themustangsource.com/forums/f800/)
-   -   Steeda Tunes? (https://themustangsource.com/forums/f800/steeda-tunes-541315/)

tj@steeda 12/16/16 05:48 PM

Originally Posted by 5.M0NSTER (Post 7002804)
Hey Rene, I'm an engineer and I work in the auto industry on controls software. I think Steeda's request makes a lot of sense. Here is why.

Every engine control unit does some adaptive optimization of vital parameters, like spark advance, air fuel ratio, timing etc. The original software programmed into the engine has a nominal range to all those parameters. Let's say that the factory setting for parameter X is 25 to 50 degrees, with most mustangs running ~35 degrees nominal on average. There are going to be outlines out there, meaning a few Mustangs will run 26 while a few others are running at 49. This can be due to worst case tolerance stack ups, manufacturing deviations, or things being assembles or calibrated just a little off center.

So to me it sounds like your car is one of the ones operating closer to the lower or upper bound. Steeda's tune counts on your car being closer to the nominal value, but it simply is not.

So instead of taking a guess (which is what they would have to do without real data) they are asking you to go back to stock and datalog. This way they can make an educated decision which way to go with their parameter settings. Closer to 25 or closer to 50 in my example. That's what I would do as well. Engineers NEED data.

Hope this helps. :nice:

Yes, what he said, lol :salute:

Best Regards,

TJ

renee29581 12/16/16 07:07 PM

Originally Posted by 5.M0NSTER (Post 7002804)
Hey Rene, I'm an engineer and I work in the auto industry on controls software. I think Steeda's request makes a lot of sense. Here is why.