Notices
5.0L GT Modifications Placeholder for future motor based GT's modifications.

Steeda tune vs ProCal tune

Search this Thread

Old 6/2/16, 04:41 PM
Len
GT Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Steeda tune vs ProCal tune

I've been running the Ford Racing ProCal tune for almost two years and I'm very happy with it. The only issue I've had is that, about once a year, it will stall at idle. The fix is a ProCal "Profile Relearn" which lasts me about a year and then the stalling returns. It's an annoyance that, based on posts to various Mustang forums, Ford Racing claims they're unaware of - a claim I don't believe.
So I think it's time for a change. I don't need the most aggressive tune and at my level of mods, I don't believe there will be a big difference between any of the major tuners. I'm more interested in driveability and reliability than an all out tune.

I like Steeda products and the fact that they have a relationship with Ford. I assume that their 93 Octane tune will have a little more kick than the 91 tune from FRPP with the same or better driveability - minus the stalling.

Has anyone here gone from ProCal to Steeda or visa versa? Was it worth the switch?
Old 6/3/16, 12:16 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
I have the Steeda Life Time Tunes with the SCT X4 Tuner, I'm running the 93 octane tune right now in my 2013 GT and it's friggin awesome.
I was looking at the Ford Procal but after doing extensive searching, I decided on Steeda and I'm very glad I did.
Old 6/3/16, 12:46 PM
GT Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Originally Posted by tourer
I have the Steeda Life Time Tunes with the SCT X4 Tuner, I'm running the 93 octane tune right now in my 2013 GT and it's friggin awesome.
I was looking at the Ford Procal but after doing extensive searching, I decided on Steeda and I'm very glad I did.

I run the BAMA 93 Octane Race tune on my 2012 convertible automatic. It rocks, the stock lazy shifting is gone. I love it.
Old 6/3/16, 01:11 PM