Notices
'10-14 Shelby Mustangs

Shelby American Update

Search this Thread

Old 4/25/10, 11:32 PM
Shelby GT350 Member

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts
While I'm a college student, and wouldn't be spending that kind of money on my car yet anyway...I certainly wouldn't want some old guy's name on my car, when he had nothing to do with it. *Flamesuit on* It would serve no purpose other than to drive the price up, and I seriously doubt he does anything at all anymore at his age (best wishes to him...but his time is long past, and I don't want his name on any car that I would own). While I'm not saying I wouldn't buy what is certainly the best factory Mustang ever offered (if I could afford it), I would definately take his name off of it afterwards.
Old 4/26/10, 08:25 AM
V6 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by stupidgenius36
While I'm a college student, and wouldn't be spending that kind of money on my car yet anyway...I certainly wouldn't want some old guy's name on my car, when he had nothing to do with it. *Flamesuit on* It would serve no purpose other than to drive the price up, and I seriously doubt he does anything at all anymore at his age (best wishes to him...but his time is long past, and I don't want his name on any car that I would own). While I'm not saying I wouldn't buy what is certainly the best factory Mustang ever offered (if I could afford it), I would definately take his name off of it afterwards.
While I will grant you that having Sheby's name on the car increased the price (how much we don't know), it also drove demand (which I am assuming worked to both Ford and Shelby's mutual advantage).

It would have suited me just fine if Carroll's name had never been on the car and Ford had never started the B.S. about 'limited editions' etc., that led to the wild ADMs and people with no intention of driving the car putting them in heated pole barns under tarps with signs saying, "Do not open until 2037". Well, joke was on them I reckon.