Repair and Service Help All Repair related problems, issues, TSBs, and anything else revolving around the Repair of your Mustang

Rattle when starting out at low rpms

Search this Thread

Old 6/18/10, 02:34 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rattle when starting out at low rpms

I just took my '09 GT in for a simple oil change and inspection and figured I'd have them investigate a rattle I started hearing a couple of months ago.

The rattle happens when I'm just starting out and at low rpms, warm, cold, immediately or after hours of driving. My guesses were an exhaust rattle near the headers as it seems to come from the engine bay or down by the pedals on the drivers side. I've also guessed that it may be coming from the clutch assembly, pedal, hydraulics, etc. but that seems less likely.

So I just call up the service manager to check on the status figuring they'd have it figured out by now after diagnosing it for the day but they are stumped. They said they tried isolating the engine mounts and some other components with no luck. The last thing they said was they have a call out to their engineering department and are waiting for an answer.

I'm assuming this means Ford's engineering department since the dealer is unlikely to have anything like that. This is strange for what seemed like a harmless rattle that I wasn't even too concerned about
Old 6/18/10, 06:13 PM
Pov

At least they're not telling you that they can't duplicate the problem, or that it's normal. That's the typical first response from my dealer.
Old 6/20/10, 08:52 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I had a rattle in the center dashboard stack that was coming from the exhaust. There is a TSB (08-03-04) out there for cutting some exhaust hangers off under the car. I did this myself and the vibration went away.
Old 6/20/10, 09:00 PM
Post *****

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I'm drawing a blank on the name right now....