Repair and Service Help All Repair related problems, issues, TSBs, and anything else revolving around the Repair of your Mustang

Help -- Tune Problem?

Search this Thread

Old 7/15/12, 04:51 PM
Number Cruncher

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Help -- Tune Problem?

I'll try to keep this short.
4.6 GT premium vert with FRPP CAI currently running a Bama 91S tune.

I've been running this setup with no problems for at least six months
But, over the last month or so, the car has (3) times thrown a wrench icon and gone into limp mode. Each time, shutting it off and starting up again cleared the wrench and the car ran fine. Each time, I checked for DTCs with my SCT tuner and found nothing listed. Yesterday, the same thing occurred. This time, I got both the wrench and engine icons. When I checked for DTCs, P2106 and P2135 were listed. (It appears these are throttle sensor issues) I cleared the codes and the car ran fine. Decided to return it to stock and see if the issue reoccurred.
Here's where the fun begins... This morning, I started the car and backed it out of the garage. Shut down, popped the hood, changed to the stock air cleaner. Plugged in the SCT, returned the tune to stock following the prompts. Unplugged the tuner and attempted to start the car and it won't start. Won't even crank. WTH? Interestingly, the message center displays the mileage for a second, then goes to dashes.
At present, I've unhooked the battery and put it on the charger.
I don't think the battery's dead, but I figured I could charge it during the 20 minute downtime recommended to cold boot the ECU.

Has anybody else run into this problem? Any suggestions are welcome.
Old 7/16/12, 12:43 AM
Cobra Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Those 2 codes together, I would say it's the Throttle Body. It's very easy to take it off and clean it, and that's what I would try first.