Repair and Service Help All Repair related problems, issues, TSBs, and anything else revolving around the Repair of your Mustang

Ford Mustang Convertible Water Leak Problem

Search this Thread

Old 9/30/22, 05:38 AM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Ford Mustang Convertible Water Leak Problem

I'm in my 2nd year of ownership of a 2007 Ford Mustang Convertible. I need help understanding the design. If I understand how it is supposed to handle water, then I can figure out why mine does not.
I've determined by careful study with a garden hose, that water does not enter the trunk via the taillights, the 3rd brake light, or the trunk lid seal.
Water enters the trunk by running off the the top and then lays for a second or two along the seam between the convertible top and the body of the car and then disappears into the car.
Now, some water will enter along the sides of the car and ford has a drain hole on the side before the rear tire on either side to allow any water that happens to get in to drip out. My problem is not on the sides, or plugged drain holes.
My issue seems to be there is not watertight seal (is there supposed to be?) between the convertible top and the body beneath the rear window. The top fits pretty tightly against the body, but it is not waterproof. Water disappears after a second or two into the 'convertible top box' (my name for the metal box that holds the top) and from the box drips into trunk. After a monsoon rain, I have water everywhere. In the rear tire wheel well, in the left and right sides of the trunk, under the back seat.

Basically, anywhere you think water might be, I can find it. This can't be by design.

So, if this isn't the way it is supposed to work, then what keeps the water out? I'm thinking maybe there is a part missing.
Old 9/30/22, 06:24 AM
Gotta Have it Green Fanatic Official TMS Travel Guide

Received 1,078 Likes on 674 Posts