Sponsored By:

Why you NEED a full size spare.

Search this Thread

Old 3/29/14, 09:07 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Originally Posted by 2k7gtcs
Mustang 50th
Ah. I see the Drive is coming through Midland. I might have to go for that.

I'd love to take my camera out there and snap a bunch of pictures.

Last edited by narphenal; 3/29/14 at 09:09 PM.
Old 3/30/14, 05:13 AM
Cobra Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by shaneyusa
I understand not having a spare as standard equipment, but not even offering an optional spare for the larger brake cars is almost irresponsible.

I too will have a matching rim and tire in the trunk going forward. It does not fit in the wheel well, but I feel much better having it there.

The funny thing is that I have been driving for over 40 years. I can only remember having about 5 or 6 flats in all that time. Four have been in the last year. This was the first time I have really been in a situation where I was concerned and very dependent on others to get back on the road. All the other vehicles with flats recently had a full size spare, but they were also SUVs.
Will a true spare tire/rim that you have now even fit in the wheel well of the trunk? And why is it that folks wait to complain about not having a spare until AFTER they have their first flat? You bought the car, had to know it only had a compressor and a can of slime, yet did nothing in the way of getting a spare rim and tire of what you are running? And this makes Ford the irresponsible one? Just be glad the situation was not as bad as it could be.