Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Noob Clutch Questions

Search this Thread

Old 8/7/10, 08:36 PM
GT Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Noob Clutch Questions

I'm still new to driving a manual (coming from an automatic). I am really smooth at shifting on everything once I'm in 1st. But starting from 1st I'm having trouble with not stalling.

Can anyone tell me how fast I should release the clutch and how much gas I should give? I know it comes with practice (and I won't have my 5.0 for a few more weeks to do that). But I'd like to get an idea before I get my sweet sweet ride.

Thanks in advance!
Old 8/7/10, 08:37 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I tend to feather the throttle when I feel the clutch beginning to engage. That's about the best I can describe how to get used to it.
Old 8/7/10, 08:40 PM
GT Member

Its all in how hard you hit the gas. I try to keep the engine around 2k+ pulling from a stop. I use the clutch to control the RPM's. More gas means I can let the clutch out faster. There is no real way to quantify how fast you should release the clutch, how long you should feather it, or anything else. You just have to learn the car. The dual mass flywheel really makes it easy.
Old 8/7/10, 09:16 PM
GTR Member

Right foot to the floor, left foot side-step clutch and HANG ON!!!

Old 8/7/10, 09:21 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 669 Likes on 542 Posts
It's all about knowing how to use the friction zone, and, on a dry clutch, getting out of that zone smoothly and quickly so as to not burn up the clutch.

Find the friction zone, and you'll find the zen of launching.

While it's not the same as a car, due to the wet clutch and the ability for the thing to be slipped virtually forever:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z05hiqpABj0
The idea is the same: There's a point where the clutch 'catches' and moves the vehicle. That is the zone you need to be familiar with to not buck the car.