2010-2014 Mustang Information on The S197 {GenII}

Muscle Car or V6?

Search this Thread

Old 5/4/10 | 01:02 AM
V6 Member

Question Muscle Car or V6?

I'm new to the pony car scene, so try to go easy on me when I ask this question. It was mentioned in another thread that a V8 defines a a muscle car. The current Mustang V6 almost matches the power of the previous GT (stock), so if the 2010 GT is considered a muscle car, why would it be improper to use the term for the 2011 V6? I understand that it's the extra 2 cylinders that make the 2 engines stand apart, but looking at stock power, aren't the 2010 GT and 2011 V6 comparable? Is it the size of the engine or the power it generates that defines a muscle car? I'm not making the argument to call the V6 a muscle car ... I'm just curious to hear some insight and opinions. Thanks.
Old 5/4/10 | 01:06 AM
Cobra Member

v8 = muscle car (my opinion)

The new V6 is an amazing car however and deserves all the praises and accolades it gets.
Old 5/4/10 | 02:11 AM
Cobra R Member

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muscle_car#Definition

this new V6 does blur the meaning doesn't it....
Old 5/4/10 | 02:44 AM
Mach 1 Member

I was the one that said a V8 defines a muscle car. And I stick by my statement. Back in '89 when the SHO first came out, it actually outpowered the 5.0 Mustang. But the SHO was not a muscle car, the Mustang was.

Power alone does not a muscle car make. It's styling and attitude that define it. Big, bulging rear fenders, big ol' bulged hoods and snarling V8s (among other things) are what make a muscle car. And that's why the Genesis isn't a muscle car... oh it's got plenty of muscle, but it's too suave, too stylish, too sophisticated to really fit in. It's like a Beethoven aficionado at a Nine Inch Nails concert.
Old 5/4/10 | 07:52 AM
GTR Member

There aren't any "Muscle Cars" any more, at least not in the classic definition of the term.