Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

How do YOU drive your 5.0?

Search this Thread

Old 7/7/10, 09:25 PM
GT Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
How do YOU drive your 5.0?

Ok, I'm a newb to a manual car. Driven them before here and there but I'm coming from a....

wait for it....
wait for it.... Automatic Honda Civic with a whopping 106 HP, I need some tips.

I don't REALLY have experience driving a stick well -- like in a performance fashion. Yah just here and there fine but especially not a high performance car like this will be.

My question... how do you drive your manual 5.0? Seems people have different theories on RPMs for daily driving, RPMs for passing, which gears they use when, when to shift, skipping gears, starting in 2nd, etc etc.

I could use some advice and would enjoy reading how YOU drive your 5.0! Please share!
Old 7/7/10, 09:56 PM
MOTM Committee Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I take it easy in mine when there is a lot of traffic or when I'm just around town. But when its clear or I need to pass someone I let that pony run free.

The only other car I've owned is a 126hp 4 cyl Cougar (which now feels like a go cart when I drive it lol) and I drove it the same way. Except the Stang is a lot more powerful and I don't have to take the crap of any of the idiot drivers in SoCal anymore.
Old 7/7/10, 09:57 PM
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
For the timebeing, it sounds like you should just shift at 3K for every gear.

Laws of Nature will follow and you'll naturally begin to shift at better places for what is appropriate for the given situation.
Old 7/8/10, 03:14 AM
Mach 1 Member