SN95 Mustang 1994-2004 Mustangs Member Tech & Restoration Discussion

Oil Pan??

Search this Thread

Old 12/5/09, 05:16 PM
BoogieNights Studios:
Official Fluffer

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Oil Pan??

Ok I got a stupid question. I am in Iraq working alongside the Army as a civilian contractor and was just told that one of my wifes friends has a 1994 Stang that is leaking oil under the engine. The mechanic that she took it too said that their is no oil pan on this engine and that there isnt supposed to be one from what I am understanding. So my question is........ Is there an oil pan on these engines?? Also what could be leaking if not?

I have many years mechanic experience under my belt so I know that there is supposed to be an oil pan to hold the oil. I have not seen any pics of it so I dont know what to think. Just looking for some advice to maybe help her out getting her Stang fixed. Thank you for the help.

Also I dont know if this is a V-6 or V-8.

Last edited by BoogieNights; 12/5/09 at 05:17 PM. Reason: Add more info
Old 12/5/09, 07:23 PM
legacy Tms Member MEMORIAL Rest In Peace 10/06/2021

Received 124 Likes on 100 Posts
Who ever she talked to wasn't a mechanic. There is an oil pan. The gasket might need replacing. The rear main seal might be leaking oil. The oil filter gasket might be leaking. A valve cover gasket might be leaking oil, letting the oil run down the side of the engine making it look like an oil leak coming from the bottom of the engine. Maybe something else, but there is an oil pan.
Old 12/5/09, 07:26 PM
BoogieNights Studios:
Official Fluffer

Originally Posted by David Young