SN95 Mustang 1994-2004 Mustangs Member Tech & Restoration Discussion

I need some help, conv top!!

Search this Thread

Old 6/21/08 | 06:31 PM
Cobra R Member

I need some help, conv top!!

I will try to type this where it makes sense, but still short. On 1/8, I was going out of town with my top closed. It just flew open by itself. It opened to about 3/4 closed. I got it closed as much as I could grab it and I headed to my mechanic's shop. We had to help it, but we got it down/closed. I took it to my interior shop I use and the guy thinks the driver's side latch failed/broke. I filed it on my insurance, too. I am not good with the technical words, sorry! The body shop were I was to have it fixed said it just needed a piece that runs along the side. My bows, top itself, and back glass were fine. They found a donor top from a salvage yard that had those parts. I took it on the 6/16 to be fixed! Were I was having this done is 1 hour away. I used to live in this town and know they do great work! They called and said by time I got there, the car would be ready to get. I was 1/2 way there and they called back. I am really slow now, brain-wise, Unless I see it, it makes no sense to describe it to me! They said the top was fixed, but the pass door will not close unless you crack the window! I agreed, but I had no idea what that meant! We went ahead and went to it though. The top looks better than it ever has! The bows are more pronounced, IT just looks better to me. The pass side top now fits much tighter, so the door cannot shut under the fabric! Right away I knew the fabric near my pass 1/4 windows just fit better. You must roll the window down about 1", then it works right! Anyone know how to fix this? They are going to just work with my car Monday. They have like 3-4 projects. Being how I'm dumb anyways, it's all foreign to me! I am hoping one of you might have had this prob. Oh yeah! They said they never really took my top apart! They just raised the top 1/2 way, and co