05-09 Interior and Audio Mods Enhancing Your Mustang's Interior and Sound System

Double DIN Dilemma

Search this Thread

Old 5/17/05, 06:50 PM
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have been researching Double DIN units recently and I am having trouble choosing the right model. The choices out right now are the Kenwood DDX7015, the Eclipse AVN2454 and AVN5435, and the Pioneer AVICD1. If there are any that I forgot, I've never heard of them or seen them on these forums. Since I am new to car audio and video I don't know what products are reliable. But anyway back to my dilemma. I want Double DIN because the look of it in the '05 is so much better and looks so much cleaner than a regular flip up monitor. What I am looking for is DVD playback first and foremost. That rules out the Pioneer AVICD1. The Kenwood fills my needs, but from what I heard its 2V outlets aren't enough for the aftermarket stereo I plan on putting in. Does it matter if I am putting in an aftermarket amp anyway? If it can't handle the aftermarket subs/speakers then that rules the Kenwood out. Since I'm new to car audio and video, I'm not sure why the 2V isn't enough, but that's what I've heard. So that would leave me with the Eclipse. They both have navigation, which I don't really care about, but it adds to the price. Also, it is hard to find the Eclipses cheap, so if anyone knows where to get a good deal, please PM me. Whoever has had experience with the Kenwood or Eclipse, how did you like them?

In general let's try to make this the Official Double DIN thread if possible. So if anyone has anything to add, please feel free. Also, for those who have it installed, post those pics!
Old 5/17/05, 08:20 PM
Team Mustang Source

You could get the AVIC-D1 and then just buy a DSP or line driver to get higher voltage.

I really want the AVN5435 but the price is killing me. If anyone knows where to get it cheap I'm in. If not I'm going with the D1.
Old 5/17/05, 09:11 PM
GT Member