05-09 Exterior Modifications Making Your '05 Stand Out from the Crowd

Yet one more GT500 fascia conversion

Search this Thread

Old 6/22/08, 02:46 PM
Team Mustang Source

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Yet one more GT500 fascia conversion

Just finished my front bumper conversion yesterday. Depite being a "compiter guy" by trade, I did all the paint and install work myself. A LOT of work, but a lot of pride in being able to say I did it myself

A new hood is being worked on right now and will get installed in a few weeks.

Here's a couple shots of the end result, along with some "in progress" photos:

Last edited by Torch_Vert; 6/22/08 at 02:47 PM.
Old 6/22/08, 02:47 PM
Team Mustang Source

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How/Where did you do the paint yourself?? Auto shop class?? Very cool!!
Old 6/22/08, 02:55 PM
Team Mustang Source

Originally Posted by Darth Stang
How/Where did you do the paint yourself?? Auto shop class?? Very cool!!
Believe it or not: on my front porch with a $30 HVLP gun from Harbor Freight and a Sears compressor that's older than my daughter in college
Old 6/22/08, 02:58 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 56 Likes on 45 Posts
looks great!
Old 6/22/08, 03:20 PM
Team Mustang Source

Originally Posted by Torch_Vert
Believe it or not: on my front porch with a $30 HVLP gun from Harbor Freight and a Sears compressor that's older than my daughter in college
Awesome!! How many days/hours did it take and how many coats? Where did you get paint and clearcoat? Have you done this before??
Old 6/22/08, 03:52 PM
Team Mustang Source

Originally Posted by Darth Stang
Awesome!! How many days/hours did it take and how many coats? Where did you get paint and clearcoat? Have you done this before??
Ok, details:

I've done a bit of casual painting over the years, but nothing serious and nothing too recent. I would put myself in the "careful novice" category.