05-09 Exterior Modifications Making Your '05 Stand Out from the Crowd

Ruggedness of a CDC Chin Spoiler

Search this Thread

Old 8/13/06, 12:02 AM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ruggedness of a CDC Chin Spoiler

Ok, so I am heavily contemplating a CDC chin spoiler as you've probably guessed. Although I am a fairly contious driver, I need to know if the CDC can clear a curb. Also I need to know if the spoiler is scraped on the ground will it survive, fall off, get bent or other? Any input for those who own this product would be greatly appreciated.

Ben
Old 8/13/06, 02:36 AM
Bullitt Member

dude it could clear some curbs but i just try to park far enough back to stay away from the curb. i bottomed it out on ditches coming out of driveways and it only scratched it up on the very front. even if u hit a curb it will bend back. it is very durable. i need to get mine repainted because of the scratch and rock chips hittin it. im thinking of just gettin the cervinis eleanor front on. plus my car is lowered.
Old 8/13/06, 07:02 AM
Team Mustang Source

Have the CDC Classic and have driven with it about 10K miles. While I have been good about remembering it's on the car - there have been 4 times when I had my head up my butt and parked too close to a curb, etc. One of these times the spoiler really hit, bent and sprang right back. Got some scratches on it and probably will get it repainted over the winter but no cracks, in it.. It is extremely durable.

An interesting point is that it fits snugly using existing screws and the middle section has the 3M tape. Due to the hits with the curb, the 3M tape is no longer holding but it allows the spoiler to bend in the middle if hit.
Old 8/13/06, 08:25 AM
V6 Member

thinking about the classic, but was wanting to keep it flat black. when you order it, does it come flat? If so, does it look nice enough to not need painting?

Thanks Guys!
Old 8/13/06, 11:25 AM
Mach 1 Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post