05-09 Exterior Modifications Making Your '05 Stand Out from the Crowd

RKSport Cali Dream Hood Starting to Crack

Search this Thread

Old 8/1/07, 03:05 PM
Team Mustang Source

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
RKSport Cali Dream Hood Starting to Crack

My RKSport Cali Dream hood is starting to crack on each side of the drivers side vent. Has anyone else had problems with their hood? Mine shakes pretty bad when going over 85. I have a feeling all that bumping around might be causing it.

I have the Ford Racing hood pins but never put them in. Now I'm not sure if I should bother if I need to get a new hood. I'm interested to see what you all think.
Old 8/1/07, 03:15 PM
Bullitt Member

That sucks bad, cause that's a really nice looking hood! If you keep it for much longer, I would put the hood ties on cause I would hate for part of it to break off while you're driving. I'm no expert, but as far as safety, I would put the ties on. What material is the hood?
Old 8/1/07, 05:51 PM
Team Mustang Source

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I wouldnt put a fiberglass hood on without pins. Also do you by chance have hood struts? A no no with a glass hood.
Old 8/2/07, 06:42 AM
Team Mustang Source

Originally Posted by Thunder Road
I wouldnt put a fiberglass hood on without pins. Also do you by chance have hood struts? A no no with a glass hood.
I do have struts, why is that a bad thing?
Old 8/2/07, 11:10 AM
Team Mustang Source

Basically the struts put pressure against the hood and can cause problems. Heres a thread you might want to check out.
http://forums.bradbarnett.net/showth...ss+hood+struts

Bottom line all glass hoods arent equal. The best ones have steel reinforcement plates for strength. A lot of them dont, and it seems the Cali Dreamin is one of many that are lacking in this respect.
Old 8/2/07, 02:20 PM
Team Mustang Source