05-09 Exterior Modifications Making Your '05 Stand Out from the Crowd

Cervinis GT500 splitter installed!

Search this Thread

Old 7/12/07, 10:33 AM
Team Mustang Source

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Cervinis GT500 splitter installed!

Well, it was a bit of a roller coaster with this thing. I loved the shape of it with the side spats to fatten up th lower bumper a bit so I ordered it over the Legend splitter figuring it would be a little more work....Well, it took a TON of work to get it ready for paint just with the basic prep. It is an injection molding with resin as opposed to abs with no glass cloth used.

It came in packaged fine, but there was a lot of rough edges, parting lines and a couple other issues right off the bat. I have a lot of experience with fine resin models, so this was somewhat easy with a big heavy-handed piece for a car. It did take some fine trimming of flash, and a couple areas in the mounting groove had two mold parting lines that took some fine tuning with a dremel to make sure it sits flat. This is actually quite fine work and could easily gouge the finished edge if you're not careful. The word crude sums it up pretty well. If they had done this in ABS with a bit more refined mold life would of been much better. Resin as a solid fill product is always tempermental.