05-09 Exterior Modifications Making Your '05 Stand Out from the Crowd

Am I the only one who likes the stock ride height??????

Search this Thread

Old 2/6/08, 10:05 AM
Mach 1 Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cool My 2-cents. Its all in what you really want.

It all gets down really to one's personal likes and dislikes. Being an ol design engineer myself, I believe we have to look at the original intent of the Mustang's ride height, by the designers and the engineers at FoMoCo! Just my lame 2-cents on this old question. Ready!

First. Stock height is always a big trade off of the looks (design) against the function (engineering). Stylists and designers size the shape the whole package. Then engineers work that shape into function by the current established norms. As in the the vehicle suspension's total travel limits, wheel/tires sizes and the ground clearance issues of the roads, curbs, driveway angles etc. are all included in this. Yawn!

Design wise, believe the stock height has been placed to show a circle arc in the fender lips, in parallel to the circle curvature at the edge of the tires. If you strike an arc from the center point of the wheel cap and run it around the top of the tire's edge, Then do the same with the fender lips, you will find that they run pretty much parallel. I know. Boring!!

Engineering wise, believe those elements just discussed, were then brought together with the required wheel travel and clearances, to give stock ride heights that you now see on the car. With a little bit of retro lift there in the back. To kick up the Mustang's shorter rear deck area. Anyone asleep yet?

When you lower a vehicle, this can change the suspension's geometry, requring different travel rates of the springs i.e. a much tighter and more solid thumpy ride over the road's defects. Everything is a big trade off on this.