05-09 Exterior Modifications Making Your '05 Stand Out from the Crowd

The 2006 18" FAN Blades

Search this Thread

Old 11/19/04, 11:28 AM
Cobra Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I am a Quality Manager in the Wheel Business. We Polish & Buff the Viper, C6 Corvette and Ram SRT 10, to name a few.
The Quality standard is super high on most of these wheels.

Sometimes there are lot of Oxides, Porosity and even staining on the cast aluminum wheels. A lot of these "suspect" wheels go for paint or are scrapped!

The closest thing you can get to a chromed wheel is a Polished forged aluminum wheel, like the Dodge Viper. Castings are dull.

Staining in the metal casting of the C6 wheel has been a major problem from the start of that program. It comes and goes.
Some C6 Corvette owner was pissed and placed a picture of his stained polished wheel on a website. What he didn't know was that it wasn't a polishing issue, but a casting issue.
Right now, GM has more then enough wheels going for paint.
GM is also considering chroming the C6. But, I think it might be an option for 2006.

I like the 18 inch Mustang wheel. Polished or Painted. Its one of the main reasons why I am waiting for a 2006 Mustang.
I do not like the current Mustang GT wheel. Although I do like some of the wheels for the V6.

What company is Polishing & Buffing the 18 inch wheel anyway?
Old 11/19/04, 06:49 PM
V10
Shelby GT350 Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally posted by adrenalin+November 18, 2004, 8:17 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (adrenalin @ November 18, 2004, 8:17 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-dustindu4@November 18, 2004, 8:08 PM
I only see 1 rim

edit: oh there it is

The painted ones look dumb. So they won't be offered any time during 2005? They're polished now, not chrome?