GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Vibration after new suspension install

Search this Thread

Old 10/27/10, 01:50 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Vibration after new suspension install

Hey all,

I just installed the Foose Handling pack in my 2005 GT. This kit includes struts, dampeners, front and rear coils and rear sway bar. The drop is not too aggressive. All work was done personally. I am not experienced but can find my way around a garage.

Anywho, I had the front end aligned and recambered after installation. No problems here.

I have noticed that at around 80 miles per hour a vibration comes from the rear end. It is tricky to explain. It is not drastic but was definately not there before.

My first though is that it is something wheel/tire related back there. I will probably run over and get the tires balanced again and see if that helps.

At normal speeds the car drives great.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Ben
Old 10/28/10, 07:10 AM
Shelby GT350 Member

Received 21 Likes on 16 Posts
Like you say , tire balance would be the first suspect ...
Old 10/28/10, 07:41 AM
Cobra Member

But unless you did something to the wheels/tires with the install, it would be odd to notice it after and not before the suspension upgrades. None of the bushings involved in what you replaced should transmit so much more vibration that you'd notice it.

You might check your pinion angle on the driveshaft and make sure it's still in spec. If you were at the limit of Ford factory tolerances before, lowering might have put you just outside spec.

Also, there's an axle damper on some of the earlier S197s that help to quell vibration. IF your's doesn't have it, it might need it now, though I think it interferes with certain rear suspension piece upgrades.
Old 10/30/10, 10:43 AM
Bullitt Member

Thanks for the thoughts guys.