GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Trans temp sender location?

Search this Thread

Old 10/29/06, 10:56 AM
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Trans temp sender location?

Hey guys, made my first post into a question. If anyone has installed a trans temp gauge, I wanted to know if you tapped the transmission pan for the sender, or if you used the diagnostic pressure port? I'm just starting to learn about gauges, so opinions and constructive flames are more than welcome.
Old 3/2/08, 08:39 AM
Bullitt Member

Hi Sook,
I want to add an autometer trans temp gauge, how did you end up doing yours?
Thanks
Old 3/28/08, 08:47 AM
GT Member

No follow up response on this? I'm curious to the answer myself.
Old 3/28/08, 11:28 AM
GT Member

sorry, I never got a response out of this thread and forgot all about it. Basically, I found that there is a pressure port on the drivers side of the transmission. It just so happens to be 1/8 NPT, the exact size of the autometer sender. It just screws right in.

To get to the diagnostic pressure port plug, you will need a 1/4 drive 11mm socket. You can't really see the plug, but you can feel it. It is above and a bit aft of the TR sensor (black thing). There is a picture of the port in the factory service manual. I can post the PDF when I get home from work. Just unbolt the plug and screw in the sender. I didn't even lose any trans fluid really when I pulled the plug.

I normally see temps around 180* in traffic and only crested 200* once during a spririted game of follow the leader.

Last edited by sook; 3/28/08 at 11:37 AM.
Old 3/28/08, 03:07 PM
GT Member