GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Procharger or Saleen supercharger on 06 GT?

Search this Thread

Old 1/30/11, 06:38 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by 5pointoh
OK I am a little confused here According to the Brenspeed website the V3 Vortech kit you are referring to adds 150 RWHP and the HO Vortech kit from Brenspeed adds over 190 RWHP.

http://www.brenspeed.com/v3vortech.html

The V2 HO kit which is on sale at AM only adds 162HP at the CRANK.

So the lower priced kit at Brenspeed adds more HP than the higher priced kit at AM??

I am new to all this.....can someone please clarify for me. Thanks!
The non-cooled V3 8psi kit is the kit I have from Brenspeed. When I had the 8psi pulley I was running 12 flat at 115 mph with a 1.8 60ft. I now have added the pulley that comes with the HO kit (I see 12psi at 6500 rpm without an intercooler/aftercooler) and Methanol injection (to act as the intercooler/aftercooler). That upgrade cost me $400, compared to $1400-1700 for an A/A or aftercooler and I see 105*F intake temps in 95*F weather and 80*F IAT in winter at the end of a 1/4 mile run. I have seen several people with the 8psi and methanol making 460+whp, it is all about supporting mods and tuning tuning tuning. I went with a centri for a couple of reasons, one my wife drives it and stock DD was number one, second was cost.

For street, stop light to stop light fun you will be happier with the feel of a PD blower, but as far as performance......I would say a centri with 10-12 psi and a twinscrew at 10-12 psi would come down to a drivers race down the 1/4 mile. I also feel the building of boost on a centri is not as harsh on the internals of the engine, IMO. You should look at turbos too, they make the most power per lbs of boost, and a properly sized turbo will have almost 0 lag.
Old 1/30/11, 06:46 PM
Bullitt Member