GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

help! what mods should I spring for??

Search this Thread

Old 9/6/07, 12:00 AM
Cobra Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
help! what mods should I spring for??

Ok I have been dreaming of a supercharger for 3 years now. that said I am now in a position where I may be able to afford one in the near future, and now I am having second thoughts!!

here is my dilemma:
currently I have these performance mods: 4.10 gears, CAI, Predator Tuner, Short throw shifter, eibach pro kit springs, nitto nt 555 285 40 18 rear tires.

Supercharger=all my money and then some and makes 150 hp if I am lucky

other options for less money than the S/C include:

Cams, Long tubes, H-pipe, udps, cmdps, electric water pump, and 100 shot of nitrous (zex kit with all the bells and whistles) this all comes out to around 3700 call it 4000 dyo tuned

I figure the latter option is superior because it will sound radical cammed, be ominous N/A, and have the big slip daddy nitrous for oh $hit situations.

Questions:

if you have nitrous are you constantly stopping to retune to use your nitrous, and then retune again for optimal n/a power? Or do you just detune and live with the sluggishness until you use the nitro?

Will a properly tuned 100 shot be easier on my motor than a blower? do I need cold plugs for the 100 shot? will i spend my time driving around a detuned nitrous vampire junky spending $50 a week on the crack junky nitro refills kicking myself for not buying a blower?

I figure that the two setups probably make about equal power, maybe the latter making a bit more if the n2o is used.

also I think if i spend 5 large for the blower i will wish i had some long tubes to let her breathe.

I also thought about turbocharging but I hear it is way more expensive, and the rotating assembly cant hang....

I look to the wisdom of the masses on the mustang source to show me the way!!!!
Old 9/6/07, 01:16 PM
Bullitt Member