GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

GT500 LCA's on GT

Search this Thread

Old 4/20/08, 11:31 AM
Cobra Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by anthony05gt
Don't get riled? Settle down pal! GT500's have horrible wheel hop right out of the box. That should say enough right there. The point of this thread is to say ''they don't stop wheel hop'' which is all the scientific experimentation I need. The bushings may very well have just been made in the same mold....I don't know, I don't care. They DO NOT work for wheel hop on my car. I had both arms in my lap, shoved a bolt through the center of the bushings and tried to bend the bolt to see how much flex each had. They seemed the same to me. I've been a tech for 24 years and I've learned one thing for sure...real world experience is what matters, not some parts guy reading me technical information.
With 475 HP plus at your disposal, getting the power down is not necessarily a easy feat.

Even a tech should know the principles of the scientific method. Subjective test results have little meaning. Now it you had measured how much force it took to deflect the bolt some distance, then you would have some meaningful test results. But all that is a mute point since you did your real world test (knowing the GT500's had the same problem?) and found no distinguishable improvement. Does not mean the GT500 bushes are softer, which is what else you are selling here.

From your signature block its not clear if you have lowered the car or changed your dampers ...

Whether you have lowered your car our not, have you done anything to improve the rear instant center? Its not particularly ideal even at stock ride height. If you do raise the instant center by dropping the rear of the LCA, too much is not good as you can create an oversteering situation with the rear axle.