GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

GT OWNERS: Twin Turbo Time!

Search this Thread

Old 7/8/05, 08:06 PM
Shelby GT500 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally posted by clintoris@July 8, 2005, 8:22 PM
trust me.. I'm not speaking out of blind ignorance.... I'm not a mechanical moron, and that's why I just don't think that a twin turbo is worth the trouble for this application. It's my daily driver, not the car that I'm collecting a paycheck with. Sure, if I was goig to go out to the Bonneville and make a run for 300mph, I'm thinkin' that my 8 psi blower would fall short of the task.... but since I'm just going to work, or going from light to light, I'll see you at the end, and you'll be lookin' at my rear bumper.
To help you understand how a supercharger works in relation to a turbo, a centrifigal blower like Paxton or Vortec works very much like a turbo... that's why you get some people that prefer them instead of a screw... they still have to spool up. They have to build volume before they can deliver a charge. They spool much faster than a turbo does.... and I'll give the pictured system the benefit that there is quite a bit of plumbing, which will create volume, so it probably won't take as long to spool, but don't site here and argue to me that this turbo will run better than a screw that is fully charged at idle.
besides.... my mind is made up, don't confuse me with the facts.

I'm out fellas... have a good weekend.

Actually you are incorrect. A well designed Turbo kit will make full boost quicker than a supercharger. Also, Turbos make more torque down low and usually under the curve.
Old 7/9/05, 02:55 AM
Mach 1 Member

^ Werd.
Old 7/9/05, 09:53 AM
Bullitt Member