GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Comp Cams install help

Search this Thread

Old 4/27/06, 11:23 AM
Mach 1 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ok, so as some of you may know, I have wanted cams for this car since before I picked it up. Well, the time has finally come, Doug has them in stock, I have sacked up and am ready to drop $1150 on them, but I have been calling around for installation, and the better shops like Chicane want around $700 for install...... [img]style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/icon24.gif[/img] so it looks like I am back to my original plan of doing it myself. I have never done ANY work on cars before this one, and on this I have done intake, shifter, full stereo with subs, and 4.30s. The gears were a female dog, a lot of small adjustments, but in the end I got it right, they are quiet no whine. I am going to have a friend help me, the same one that helped with the gears and I am hoping the cams go in nicely and smoothly.

So, has anybody on here installed cams on maybe a previous mod mustang? [img]style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/04.gif[/img] any tips or advice or things I need to know about? I think I know where I can borrow the valve spring compressor, and I am pretty sure that is the only special tool I need.

I am going to call Doug today, and see what the story with his car is, and if he has tunes ready for the cams. He has 2500 in stock and I plan to change that to 2499 before this week is out.

Lastly, Dustin or somebody, can you hook me up with the pdf files I will need? [img]style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/04.gif[/img] Also any of the near by things that will need to be removed. I am not sure how much stuff I need to take off to get the front chain covers off the motor. I am hoping its not too bad, but I have no clue how to do it right. my email is emperorjordan @ gmail .com

and I will document my install the best I can, and take videos of the first start up.