GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

CAI Dilemma

Search this Thread

Old 6/29/05, 08:13 PM
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm having trouble deciding on what CAI to get. The choice right now is between JLT and C&L. Being an automatic owner I want to get the best for the automatic specifically. My choice right now is to buy the C&L, XCal2 + tunes straight from Alternative Auto and install everything myself. I am hesitant to do this because it costs $750 and I am new to installing mods myself. The other choice I have is to buy the JLT(the best IMO) and take it to JDM Engineering in Freehold and have an SCT tuner work specifically on my car, even though it is an auto. I've heard the issues with the JLT, but the new insert has apparently solved the falling off and heat deformation problems. I need your opinions on this because the CAI will be my major HP mod for awhile. Also, what octane tune should I get? My car is a daily driver and will rarely go to the track, so I think I should just stick with 87, instead of going to 93. Thanks in advance.
Old 6/29/05, 08:23 PM
I talk to cones.

Originally posted by 2005 Black GT@June 29, 2005, 9:16 PM