Car Care Shine Up Your Stang for Show Season, Fix a Dent, And General Car Cleaning

Need Help With My Car

Search this Thread

Old 6/19/06, 10:02 AM
Mach 1 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need Help With My Car

hey guys,
Ok i'll make this as short as possible. I live in Miami, and just bought my GT in April and have been dilligently trying to keep it washed and cleaned as much as possible. However, I'm concerned with keeping the paint and clearcoat PROTECTED as well as keeping it clean. We have such erratic weatehr down here, and its summer and then Hurricane season, that i want to make sure that my paint will be able to stand the scorching hot 90+ days and the waterfall-like downpours we get all the time.

I went and bought a Meguiar's Gold Wax kit, and tried to wax my car this weekend. I'm a rookie when it comes to waxing, but I think I did something wrong. When I applied the wax in circular motions to the car, I then went back and tried to go over it with a polishing cloth and sometimes it was hard to remove... in some places, I just couldnt remove the streaks, so I was wondering if you guys could give me some pointers?
Old 6/19/06, 11:56 AM
NJ3
Mach 1 Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Some waxes are more difficult than others to apply without steaking. I find that by going over the car with Meguiar's Quick Detail spray afer waxing it will eliminate the streaks.
Old 6/19/06, 12:25 PM
Mach 1 Member

Sounds like you didn't let it dry long enough. The Gold Class wax is very sticky, so you have to let it dry completely before trying to wipe it off. If you're doing it in a garage (like I do), let it dry a good hour before wiping it. If you have to do it outside, find some shade, apply the wax in sections and let it dry 10-15 min. If you have access to a buffer, that helps too.
Old 6/19/06, 01:05 PM
TMS West Coast Correspondent