Car Care Shine Up Your Stang for Show Season, Fix a Dent, And General Car Cleaning

Complete noob, please help.

Search this Thread

Old 11/19/11, 01:12 PM
Cobra R Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Complete noob, please help.

Alright I have never really "detailed" my car, its always been a wash and vacuum afair. But I really want that amazing lasting shine all the way around. What do I need to do? I have never used wax or a clay bar....
Old 11/19/11, 01:48 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 667 Likes on 541 Posts
Well, use them. Done.

Although, you'd probably wanna do the clay bar first, then the wax. There are plenty of threads about who's products to use... Zaino's, Meguires, Mothers, Blue Ice, Turtle Wax and others... But you should do your own research with Google and find reviews about the products, and just... make up your mind and go.

Get in the shade, wash the car with a good CAR wash, and soft mitts. Dry the car with shammies.

If there is any polishing/scratch removal to do, now's the time. A little rubbing compound, or if needed a orbital polisher and liquid polish... whatever ya need. Also, touch ups are good timing here too, and if you're really good at it, you can sand/rub them to hide them pretty good... or Dr. Colorchip maybe, somethin' like that.. And any goo-gone stuff, like tar on the wheel wells or such... You'll wanna re-wash the car after you do all that though.

Clay bar per instructions... here's a video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yfEfLGL59GI

Wax per instructions.

ALL IN THE SHADE.

And the car will be amazin' lookin'. It'll take a while, but I bet it'll be worth it.

---

From that one video, you can go literally NUTS with all the various informational videos about detailing with the links on the right. Have fun!

Last edited by houtex; 11/19/11 at 01:53 PM.
Old 11/19/11, 02:15 PM
Cobra R Member

Can you recommend a good car wash?
Old 11/19/11, 10:33 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 667 Likes on 541 Posts